31 Days of Life in a Large Family – Day 21

SavedPicture-2013102113857.jpg

Today was bread making day. We were down to a couple slices and I figured I better make some more before we were completely out. My children can’t go 1 day without bread. Someone always has toast for breakfast or a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch.

I love baking and one of our good friends continually blesses us with 50# bags of organic bread flour. The last one they gave us was whole wheat! I was very happy! 😀

This is the recipe I use for our sandwich bread. It tastes good and the kids love it. It makes 2 loaves. I wanted to see if I could double it and make 4 loaves at once. It didn’t work out so well. It was way too much dough for my mixer! 😛

SavedPicture-2013102113838.jpg

That picture was before I added 6 more cups of flour. :/ I’m not a very good judge on size.

It started spitting the flour all over the place! I thought, well, maybe if I took some dough out I could mix it and then mix the dough I took out and then combined the two. Haha! It didn’t work out like that. I ended up having to just knead the dough by hand in a very large bowl and add a little flour at a time to make up for all the flour it spit at me.

Oh well. Now I know and I got an arm workout! 😉

SavedPicture-20131021135349.jpg

That’s the bread before I let it rise…

SavedPicture-20131021145839.jpg

And then after.

SavedPicture-2013102115027.jpg

In the pans…

SavedPicture-2013102115150.jpg

And then in the oven.

We love to eat it warm out of the oven with some butter! Mmmmm…..

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 31 Days of Life in a Large Family – Day 21

  1. Stephani says:

    I still do it sometimes…but probably not as often as I should. And we like the same, warm out of the oven with butter. And the smell in the house is amazing when bread is baking. I love it.

  2. I remember baking bread it made the house smell so good:-)

  3. holly says:

    mmmmmm……………yum

Leave a Reply

