31 Days of Life in a Large Family – Day 2 : Grocery Shopping

Buying food for a family of 7 on a budget of $500 a month can take some work.

This morning I packed up the boys and started out for the first of 3 stores at 7am. Our first stop was Winco. I went to get stuff from the bulk bins and for the things that I know are cheaper there than the other stores I was going to. We got back home about 8:30.

Probably could’ve gotten done sooner, but Isaiah (who is now potty trained!!) said he needed to go potty about halfway through the store. We ran to get to the bathroom all the way at the other side of the store. I bring him into the stall and have to put him on the toilet sideways, because I didn’t want him to end up peeing all over me, and I have to hold him up so he didn’t fall in. Then after 5 minutes of me telling him to go pee already the automatic flushing system flushes and scares the crap out of both boys. Elijah, who had been standing behind me, took off running for the bathroom door and Isaiah jumped up off the toilet and scrambled for the door as fast as he could with his pants around his ankles. Pretty sure it scared them out of ever going to a public restroom again!

So, then we brought those groceries home to put away and then on to our 2nd store. We went to Sam’s club to get our meat, frozen veggies, tortillas, and cheese. I found some great deals on the meat, so I went ahead and stocked up for the month!!

After we left there we stopped at Fry’s on the way home so I could grab apples, bananas, and some drinks for Michael’s lunches.

We got home by 1030. I put away the groceries and then had to separate all the meat I bought into dinner size portions to freeze. So, I was completely done and cleaned up by 11am. It took me 4 hours and $250.

It doesn’t take that much time or money every time I go shopping, just the first shopping trip of the month. For the rest of the month I just go as needed for produce, dairy, and misc. I like to get everything I need for Michael’s lunches for the month in the beginning of the month and I got lucky with the meat this month, because usually I buy meat as it goes on sale.

This entry was posted in Crazy Life, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 31 Days of Life in a Large Family – Day 2 : Grocery Shopping

  1. theresa says:

    love it and I am with you the boys probally won’t use the public rest room until they are about 20 heehee

  2. mithriluna says:

    Wow. This is great!

  3. amy says:

    I laughed out loud envisioning the public bathroom trauma!!! Poor kids 😉 you always amaze me with what you can get for groceries on a budget too! I’m so glad you are blogging again!

Leave a Reply

