Happenings

I haven’t written in awhile because it’s been very busy around here. In August I took over the Children’s ministry director position at our church and we also started back up with homeschooling.

I have never been a children’s ministry director nor have I been in charge of anything but my own family before. Needless to say I was a little nervous and very excited about taking over the position. I had to come up with the curriculum and some form of order for the children. They had been looking for a replacement for over a year so everything they were doing was kinda just spur of the moment, whatever. It wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t very organized and things got a little crazy sometimes.

image

The name I came up with for the Children's ministry on the shirts we had made.

I started a Pumpkin “Patch” in October for the kids to come carve pumpkins and play some fun games. They had sack races and a pumpkin seed spitting contest. Michael did some face painting for the kids, too.

October 27 was our 10 year anniversary. We did a vow renewal at our church with our immediate family and closest friends. I didn’t really get to plan or do anything for our wedding so I really enjoyed planning and doing the renewal.

image

After the vow renewal, we had a little fondue.

In November we tried our first outreach with the children’s ministry. We held a Free Community Pancake Breakfast and had the children serve. We passed out flyers to the neighborhood but only had like 30 people all morning! I was so nervous we were going to run out of pancakes and we ending up having A LOT leftover.

image

In December the children’s ministry usually puts on a Christmas play. I wasn’t ready to take that on yet so I decided a Christmas concert would be easier. HA! Trying to get 30 kids to sing 14 songs was harder than I imagined. I have way more respect now for all my chorus teachers from school. I might just go with the play next year.

image

This month we tried our second service project with the kids. We had them pickup trash in the neighborhood. It went well. The kids had fun and the street that our church is on got cleaned of all the litter for a couple of days.

All that was just a glimpse of everything that has happened since July. We also had 4 of the kids’ birthdays, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. Like I said, very busy!

This entry was posted in Crazy Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happenings

  1. Hello my beautiful Cousin! I love all the wonderful things you are doing! Can’t wait to see more!

  2. memorypearls says:

    I love what you are teaching the children.

  3. amymarie80 says:

    A very busy year, indeed! Can’t wait to see more pictures of all the amazing things you do 🙂

Leave a Reply

